• July 11, 2020
  • Updated 5:20 pm

Cricket Australia Announces ODI Team of Decade, MS Dhoni Named Captain

Cricket Australia Announces ODI Team of Decade, MS Dhoni Named Captain

On Tuesday, Cricket Australia announced Mahendra Singh Dhoni as the captain of the ODI Team of the Decade. Apart from MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma were also selected in the 11-man team. Virat Kohli named as the Test captain. MS Dhoni is a genius in the ODI format and equally skilled captaincy, test playing as well as wicket keeping. 

“The input of MS Dhoni with the bat did tail off during the latter part of the decade, but he was a dominant force in a golden period for India’s one-day side. Having assured his greatness by guiding his nation to World Cup glory on home soil in 2011, the right-hander became India’s ultimate finisher with the bat,” said Cricket Australia about MS Dhoni.

“Dhoni’s average of more than 50 is undoubtedly boosted by the fact 49 of his innings were unbeaten. But on the 28 occasions, he has been not out in a run chase this decade, India have lost only three times. And his work behind the stumps has rarely let him or his bowlers down,” it added.

On the other side, Kohli was named captain of the decade of Cricket Australia’s Test team. The selection of Kohli in both the Test and ODI is no wonder. The 31-year-old cricketer is considered as the best batsman over the last decade. He has already collected 70 International hundreds and is only after Ricky Ponting (71) and Sachin Tendulkar (100). If seen as a run-scorer, Kohli is leading third with 21,444 runs, behind Ponting (27,483) and Tendulkar (34,357). The CA describes Mr Kohli as “the best one-day batsman” of the decade.

Rohit Sharma, in the third Test against South Africa in October 2019, made 2000th run and his first double century in Tests. He took place among the few Indian players who scored a century on Test Debut. 

Cricket Australia’s ODI team of the decade: MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, Shakib al Hasan, Jos Buttler, Rashid Khan, Mitchell Starc, Trent Boult, Lasith Malinga.

Cricket Australia’s Test team of the decade: Steve Smith, Virat Kohli, Alastair Cook, David Warner, Kane Williamson, AB de Villiers, Nathan Lyon, James Anderson, Ben Stokes, Dale Steyn.