Former BPF Member Biswajit Daimary nominated by BJP as Rajya Sabha Candidate, Assam

Former BPF Member Biswajit Daimary nominated by BJP as Rajya Sabha Candidate, Assam

BJP named N Ramchander Rao & Gujjula Premender Reddy its candidates for MLC elections from two graduates’ constituencies in Telangana.

On February 15 BJP announced Biswajit Daimary as the candidate for the by-election to the Upper House from Assam.

After quiting Rajya Sabha seat as a Bodoland People’s Front MP, Daimary joined BJP.

Since the year 2008 Daimary have been elected to the House thrice and have called quit where soon after he joined the saffron party.

At present Senior Congress leader Mallikaejun Kharge is to replace Ghulam Nabi Azad as the leader of opposition in the Rajya Sabha.

MP Ghulam Nabi Azad is to retire on February 15. He was a Rajya Sabha member in 1990 from Maharashtra but later went back to his home state, Jammu and Kashmir.

Later he became the chief minister of Jammu and Kashmir.

Writing to the Chairman of the Upper House of Parliament, the Congress party Kharge was appointed for the post of the opposition after Azad’s retirement, Kharge became the leader of the Congress in the Lok Sabha from 2014 to 2019.

Trinamool Congress MP Dinesh Trivedi resigned from the party in the Rajya Sabha on Friday, claiming that he felt “suffocated” and “helpless” under the ruling dispensation in West Bengal.

“I am resigning from the party as there is violence in my state. I am grateful to my party that the party sent me here. I am feeling suffocated as we are not able to do anything about the violence in the state,” Trivedi said

Trinamool might feel pressured as per the decision of Trivedi to step down from the party in the run-up to the Assembly elections in the state.

Many are curious to see if he joins BJP or other, BJP Bengal in-charge Kailash Vijayvargiya stated already that Trivedi is welcome if he intends to join the BJP.

Related post