• September 28, 2020
  • Updated 2:59 pm

Shah Rukh Khan will host Filmfare Awards 2020 in Guwahati

Shah Rukh Khan will host Filmfare Awards 2020 in Guwahati

Bollywood superstar Shahrukh Khan has been associated with the Filmfare Awards for a long time. Over several years, the actor has achieved many Filmfare Awards for his powerful screen presence and excellent performance. Now, the latest news coming that Mr Khan is all geared up to host the award show once again. Shahrukh Khan last hosted Filmfare in 2009 with Saif Ali Khan.

This year, the 65th Filmfare Awards, 2020 to be held in Guwahati at Rajiv Gandhi Indoor Stadium at Amingaon on February 15. As per a report from Box Office Worldwide, SRK will be leading the show and host it. For the first time in six decades that prestigious annual award ceremony will be held outside Mumbai. Reports are also coming that SRK will not be alone as Vicky Kaushal will be joining him as co-host for the event.

Fans are eagerly waiting to see the chemistry between the two stars to bring the stage on fire. Regarding this, a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) was signed between The Times Group and The Assam Tourism Development Corporation (ATDC) on November 25 in Guwahati. Presented by the Times Group, this year the budget of the event will be Rs 20-30 crore. 

ATDC Chairman Jayanta Malla Barua stated that the purpose of holding the Filmfare Awards is to promote Assam as one of the best tourist destinations in India by involving Bollywood. However, the prices of tickets might be too costly since the event will be held in Guwahati for the first time.

In its earlier edition, the ticket cost ranged from Rs 10 thousand to 3 lakhs held in Mumbai. If the price range of the tickets continues to be so high, many common people will not be able to walk in the red carpet with the Bollywood stars.

The Filmfare Awards is one of the most prestigious film events in the world that is set to honour artistic and technical excellence in the Bollywood film industry. It was first introduced in 1954. Every year, it looks back at the hits and appreciates not just films, but also the people who have been responsible for creating path-breaking cinema.